Welcome to School Counseling at JHHS

  • John Handley High School’s Counseling Department is comprised of a Counseling Director, four School Counselors, a Secretary, Registrar, and Career Coach. ​Counselors take an active role in supporting the personal, academic, and career goals of Handley students with a focus on college and career readiness.​

  •  Counselors can be contacted directly by phone when calling (540) 662-3471 and entering their extension number at the prompt or through their e-mail address. Fax # (540) 662-1942  

  • Counseling Staff

    Amber Mungavin – Director of Counseling 
    Ext. 43004 - mungavina@wps.k12.va.us

    Shelly Kerr – Class of 2022
    Ext. 43001 - kerr@wps.k12.va.us

    Natosha Fradillada – Class of 2019 
    Ext. 43007 - fradilladan@wps.k12.va.us

    Justine Beck Rose – Class of 2020 
    Ext. 43003 - rose@wps.k12.va.us

    Andrew Devening – Class of 2021 
    Ext. 43008 - deveninga@wps.k12.va.us

    Mary Jane Shiflet – Secretary 
    Ext. 43005 - shifletmj@wps.k12.va.us

    Barbara Unger – Registrar 
    Ext. 43011 - unger.barbara@wps.k12.va.us

    Tracy Tilling – Career Coach 
    Ext. 43012 - tillingt@wps.k12.va.us

    Anderea Mason - School Psychologist 
    Ext. 36007 - mason.anderea@wps.k12.va.us                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

     

     

     
  • AP TESTING PRE-ADMINISTRATION DATES
    Students will report to the cafteria by 8:30 a.m. on the following dates for pre-administration:

    AP English Courses (Lang & Lit)  Monday, April 15
    AP World History  Tuesday, April 16
    AP Foreign Language, Virtual VA, Studio Art   Wednesday, April 17
    AP Science and Math  Thursday, April 18

    AP Pre-Administration Make-up dates:

    Tuesday, April 23: Includes students who are taking ONLY Government or U S History


    Wednesday, April 24

    If students are taking more than one AP Exam, they will only need to report to ONE pre-administration session.

    Comments (-1)
  • LFCC PLACEMENT TESTING DATES
    Upstairs Medial Lab
    3:30 P.M. (all dates)

    Monday, April 15
    Wednesday, April 17

    Testing for:

    Students who are planning to dual enroll courses for next year and current seniors who are planning to attend LFCC this fall and have not completed their placement testing.

    See Ms. Tilling, Career Coach, in the Counseling Office for more information and to sign up for a test date. 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Comments (-1)