Clubs

  • Art Club

    Art Club

    Sponsor: Heather Scott
    Email: scotth@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 2102

    Art club gives students who might not be able to take art as a class, or those who would like to learn more about art, an opportunity to express their creative side.

     

  • Astronomy Club Astronomy Club

    Sponsor: Emily Badman
    Email: badmane@wps.k12.va.us 
    Location: Room 1331

    Incite and foster interest in the study of the cosmos and optical observation.

     

  • Board Games Club Board Games Club

    Sponsor: Kara Logan
    Email: logank@wps.k12.va.us 
    Location: Library Media Center (Lobby)

    The mission of the Board Game Club is to promote a community atmosphere in which students play strategy-based board games, including Chess, Risk, etc.

     

  • Drama Club Drama Club

    Sponsors: Julie Foster Larry Lovelady
    Email: foster@wps.k12.va.us and lovelady.larry@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 1318

    This club is open to any student who has participated in the fall musical. It runs from November to May. Members of the club are invited to attend open dress rehearsals of various local theatrical performances. During the Spring semester members participate in various activities such as reader's theater, small performances, community outreach and possible service projects.

     

  • Fellowship of Christian Athletics Fellowship of Christian Athletes Club

    Sponsor: Jim Gowdy
    Email: gowdy@wps.k12.va.us 
    Location: Room 1106

    FCA Mission: To present to coaches and athletes, and all whom they influence, the challenge and adventure of receiving Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, serving Him in their relationships and in the fellowship of the church. We encourage service to community, church, and school.

     

  • Handley Investment Club Handley Investment Club

    Sponsor: Carl Rush
    Email: rushc@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 2303

    The Handley Investment Club introduces students to the modern concepts of investing and entrepreneurship through basic financial lessons, the stock market game, and guest speakers. The club's goal is to educate students and promote interest in finance.
     
     
     
  • Interact Club

    Interact Club

    Sponsor: Julia Kogut
    Email: kogut@wps.k12.va.us 
    Location: Room 1221

    Interact is a service fraternity. Our parent organization is the Rotary Club of Winchester. We help nonprofit organizations both locally and internationally with their projects and events. In addition, we have committees that focus on specific issues such as Relay for Life, Holder’s Heroes (anti-bullying), etc.

  • Junior Classical League Club

     

    Junior Classical League

    Danielle Bostick
    Email: bostickd@wps.k12.va.us 
    Location: Room 2404

     Our purpose is to encourage an interest in and an appreciation of the language, literature, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome and to impart an understanding of the debt of our own culture to that of Classical antiquity. 

     

  • Key Club Key Club

    Sponsors: Jeff Keller and Jessica Timmons
    Email: keller@wps.k12.va.us  and timmonsj@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 1305

    Key Club is a service organization under the umbrella of Kiwanis International. We serve the school, community, nation, and international community. Our major service projects include three blood drives in cooperation with the American Red Cross, community Pancake Day, and work with various non-profits in the community.

     

  • Latinos Unidos Latinos Unidos

    Sponsor: Ileana Middelhof and Stephanie Tracy
    Email: middlehof@wps.k12.va.us and tracy@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: 2408

    Latinos Unidos is a club open to Hispanic students and all others interested in celebrating the many Hispanic cultures at JHHS. Monthly meetings after school.

    Events in school and in the community ---Celebración de Winchester 2017!, Hispanic Heritage Month, Salsa Dancing, Cultural Showcase, and Service Learning.

     

  • League Of Legends League of Legends

    Sponsor: Eric Echelberger
    Email: echelberger@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 2401

    Come together with other League enthusiasts to discuss recent changes and new strategies. Find new friends for both on and offline interaction in a safe, welcoming environment.

     

  • LMC Club LMC Club

    Sponsors: Kara Logan and Shari Putnam
    Email: logank@wps.k12.va.us and putnam@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Library

    Learn the operations of a library media center and serve your school community by joining the LMC Club. You’ll have first access to new books, develop workplace and interpersonal skills, prepare displays and other marketing products, assist with fundraising, attend events such as authors’ visits, and much, much more!

     

  • Miscellanea/Creative Writing Miscellanea/Creative Writing

    Sponsor: Star Friend
    Email: friends@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 2314

    Miscellanea is the literary magazine of John Handley High School. This site is a forum for the poetry and prose of JHHS students and teachers. Opinions expressed are those of the writer and do not reflect any sort of institutional policy. Fictional accounts are the creative work of the writer. Any resemblance to actual events or real people is purely coincidental. This club meets weekly to discuss plans for Miscellanea, the school literary magazine.

     Please take time to read Miscellanea online.

     

  • Photography Club, Through the Lens Photography Club, Through the Lens

    Sponsor: Cosmo Balio
    Email: balio.cosmo@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: Room 2206

    Photography Club provides extra experience and opportunities for students and staff who enjoy photography or want to learn more about it. We want to inspire students to develop their skills in photography and teach others what they have learned. We plan to do photo shoots, Adobe Photoshop, film photography and some photo excursions.

     

  • R.I.C.H.

    Sponsors: Wendy Perkins and Freeman Harrison
    Email: perkins@wps.k12.va.us and harrisonf@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: LMC Lobby

    This club is for any student who is ready for a change. Participants will be challenged to think outside social norms with regards to personal, professional, and academic achievement. Guest speakers from various community organizations will present students with options and opportunities meant to expand their personal perspectives. Hands-on activities will help students to explore their own untapped potential. Weekly exercises will be both entertaining and practical with a focus on the advancement of today’s youth. 

     

     

  • Ultimate Frisbee Ultimate Frisbee

    Sponser: Jessica Timmons
    Email: timmonsj@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: 1121

    A fun, casual group who plays ultimate frisbee weekly. No experience necessary!

     

  • Empowered Women Women with a Purpose

    Sponsor: Kristen Darlington
    Email: darlington@wps.k12.va.us
    Location: 1308

    Handley's female empowerment club that supports educational efforts, builds positive relationships within the school and community and seeks to learn from positive role models.