Return to Headlines

Stewart Bell Award Nominations Now Open

Stewart Bell Nominations are now being sought for the Stewart Bell “Excellence in Teaching” Award. The Handley Board of Trustees, which oversees the award, is appointing a committee to review nominations. The committee will consist of a committee chair, School Board representative, and a parent representative for Daniel Morgan Intermediate School.

The award was established by former Winchester Mayor Stewart Bell, Jr. in 1985 with a $20,000 endowment intended to reward exceptional performance in classroom teaching.  In 1997, enough interest had accrued to grant the first award, which has since been given annually based on a rotation of the city schools.

Past award recipients include Amy Rogers, teacher at John Kerr Elementry School; Karri Cameron, teacher at John Handley High School; Shelly Lee at Virginia Avenue Charlotte DeHart Elementary School; Margaret Hudson, teacher at Daniel Morgan Middle School; Jonelle Hamou, librarian at Frederick Douglass Elementary School; and Robin Scully, teacher at Garland Quarles Elementary School.

Stewart Bell, a former teacher and principal, said he created the award to honor those individuals whose interest, enthusiasm, and support of children may influence them positively for the rest of their lives.  Those eligible for selection include classroom teachers, librarians, and guidance counselors, under criteria which emphasizes four standards:

•  Successfully reveals to the students the nature and possibilities of the world in which they live;
•  Helps maturing students discover their own interests, strengths and weaknesses;
•  Challenges each student to adopt standards and goals for productive life suitable to his/her interests and capabilities; and
•  Assists and motivates students to develop accordingly.

Nominations for the Stewart Bell “Excellence in Teaching” Award are open to the public and may be submitted online: | ENGLISH | ESPAÑOL |

The 2020 recipient will be from Daniel Morgan Intermediate School.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 3, 2020.

The Stewart Bell Award will be announced at the WPS Convocation in August, 2020 at the start of the 2020-2021 school year.