Return to Headlines

Teachers of the Year Recognitions

WPS 2019 Teachers of the Year The goal of the Virginia Teacher of the Year program is to recognize dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled teachers at the local, regional, and state level. Through a nomination process, a team composed of a parent, a school board member, and central office staff conducted interviews with those teachers and selected Maggie Gavello, John Handley High School, as Winchester Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year for 2019-20. Maggie was recognized at the April 22, 2019, school board meeting.


In addition to Maggie, the school board, respective school principal, and Superintendent Jason Van Heukelum recognized teachers who were selected as their school’s Teacher of the Year to show their appreciation and honor the outstanding teachers we have at Winchester Public Schools.


Pictured are each school's Teacher of the Year and its principal, in addition to a group picture with Superintendent Jason Van Heukelum and School Board Chair Allyson Pate.


(top L-R): Maggie Gavello, WPS and John Handley High School (with Principal Mike Dufrene); Amy Entwisle, Daniel Morgan Middle School (with Principal Jennifer Buckley); Gus Glatzel, Daniel Morgan Intermediate School (with Principal Mat Wygal)

(bottom L-R): Paula Petrowitsch, Frederick Douglass Elementary School (with Principal Stephanie Downey); Holly Dufrene, Garland Quarles Elementary School (with Principal Joannie Hovatter); Jennifer LaBombard-Daniels, John Kerr Elementary School (with Principal Laura Evy)

Below: Melinda Holthaus, Virginia Avemue Charlotte DeHart Elementary School (Nan Bryant, Principal) 

Melinda Holthaus, Virginia Avemue Charlotte DeHart Elementary School (Nan Bryant, Principal)  

A big THANK YOU to all of you for your hard work and dedication to our students!