Return to Headlines

Lisa Robertson, VACDES

Teacher of the Year 2020 Superintendent Jason Van Heukelum and several WPS staff members gathered at Virginia Avenue Charlotte DeHart Elementary School to honor and congratulate Lisa Robertson as our 2020 Teacher of the Year! Even though we were unable to celebrate with the usual surprise, we still wanted to make it special for Lisa. Showing amazement and appreciation at receiving WPS Teacher of the Year, the first thing she said was, “I miss my kids!”

Lisa is a Reading Specialist and has been teaching for 22 years, the past 16 at Virginia Avenue Charlotte DeHart Elementary School. Her teacher webpage reflects her heart for teaching and learning: “My passion is helping students discover a love of reading and learning. Reading opens the door to new places, cultures, and things we've never explored!”

Lisa Robertson, 2020 Teacher of the Year As recipient of this high honor, Lisa will go on to represent the Winchester Public Schools in the Region IV Teacher of the Year selection process. 

WPS is proud of the many amazing teachers in our school division and their dedication to our students. Our congratulations go out to all of our finalists listed below:

Dot Lisa Robertson - VACDES and WPS
Dot Farrah Litherland - FDES
Dot Erika Berry - JKES
Dot Mandy Estep - GQES
Dot Emily Nail - DMIS
Dot Martha Beyrau - DMMS
Dot Jessica Timmons - JHHS

Again, we are so fortunate to have such great public education teachers here at WPS. Congratulations to Lisa and all of our 2020 Teachers of the Year!